Skip to content
June 28, 2010 / multiplesclerosis1209

I Hate Heartburn But I Love My Husband

The steroids seem to be making me feel a little better but they are giving me ridiculous heartburn.  My legs seem a little less weak and the fatigue is better but I have been resting now for a couple days.  I go to see my Neurologist on Tuesday to check in, just in case.  This is all so new to me still and she always tells me to call her if anything gets worse or if anything new comes up.  I wasn’t even sure if I was in a relapse really until I talked to her on the phone…..

I cannot begin to explain how amazing my husband is.  Now I know we’ve only been married a couple weeks but this is the real deal.  I finally understand that whole “you just know” crap that all married couples talk about.  He sincerely wants to help me feel better because when I hurt, he hurts.  Whenever some new way for me to feel like shit comes up he just hugs me and says he’s sorry that I have to go through so much.  We crawled into bed tonight and all I wanted to do was cuddle and get frisky and all of the sudden fire started gurgling up my throat and I had to sit up.  He just cooled his jets and asked if I wanted him to go to the store to get me some Tums.  One night a few weeks ago I woke up in the middle of the night to the sensation of me wetting the bed.  I panicked and jumped up to go to the bathroom and he asked if I was ok.  When I told him what happened he again said he was so sorry that I had to be going through all of this.  I started crying out of frustration of my body failing me and he just held me tight and told me we could get through anything together.    After we changed the bed he grabbed diaper-type pads (like puppy potty pads but not disposable) and tucked them in nicely under the top sheet.  No big deal.

I don’t know how I would be coping with all of this without him.  He is my sanity and I hope someday I am able to show him how much I love and appreciate him.  I asked him to promise me that he would get sick for a couple days here and there so that I could have the chance to take care of him.  He, of course, said no way.

Leave a Reply

