Skip to content
February 20, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

Poop

Intestinal health is extremely important to overall well being.  No one likes to talk about it but it needs to be talked about.  This post is about poop so if you don’t want to hear about it, stop reading here.  You’ve been warned.

Since the beginnings of my MS I have had bowel problems.  Constant constipation with the inability to hold it for very long when the time comes.  As an adult, I have crapped my pants more times than when I was a child (after diapers of course) .  For the last few years, three bowel movements a week has been my norm.  I’ve tried different products that contain psyllium, I’ve tried eating higher fiber foods but consistency has never been my strong suit and good habits never stick.  Well, I finally got fed up with the hard, bloated stomach and painful, rock hard poops.  I read an article in an MS magazine recently and it talked about the importance of intestinal heath (scroll down to the green tab, ‘Healthy Living’).  I’ve been researching different diets and what foods are the best for a healthy living and I’ve decided to go with a diet that helps to balance the body’s pH.  I try to eat foods that are more alkaline and I take supplements and vitamins and I started (yesterday) making a “green drink” that I am supposed to drink everyday that is going to help cleanse my intestinal tract and my colon and keep it clean.

Here’s what it is:

1 cup Organic Apple Juice

1 oz liquid chlorophyll

1 oz Sonnes #7

1 tablespoon flax seed powder

Blend together in a blender then add

1 large teaspoon psyllium husk and blend just a few more seconds (this will thicken the juice so don’t blend too long)

Take this with two Cascara Sagrada tablets

I started this yesterday (so I’ve had it twice) and it tastes just fine and so far no side effects like diarrhea.  You are supposed to drink this in the morning everyday but I am not that motivated in the AM so I’ve been doing it for lunch.  If I’m going to stick to it, it needs to be easy for me and since I come home everyday for lunch, it will be easy to do everyday.  I am also going to try and avoid junky, processed foods and most meats (I don’t know that I will ever give up bacon).  My husband is doing the green drink with me everyday but I am not trying to make him change his diet.  I will be buying more fruits and vegetables and less meat but he loves eating meat so I’m not going to try and change that.  I’m going to try and limit my dairy which shouldn’t be a problem since Hubby is lactose intolerant so we don’t eat much dairy anyway other than cheese and butter.

I’ve never been too concerned with a super healthy diet or way of living.  Having MS puts everything into perspective.  I just want to feel good again.  I don’t really care if I lose the 20lbs I’ve found since I got married, I just want to have more energy and feel good.  When you feel good, you look good.  You dig?  Eliminating all the waste we build up everyday seems like a good idea too.  Who wants that stuff lingering in our colons?  Not me.  I want to poop every single day.  Maybe even twice a day.  I also want to have good eating habits before we have children so we can help to raise them the healthiest way possible.  I already know that I might be the mom in the wheelchair but hopefully we can put that off a few years if I start a path of super awesome healthy living.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tammy Padilla / Feb 20 2011 8:18 pm

    My doctor recommended using “baby Pear juice” just 4 ounces and it keeps your regular. If I get constipated I use 8 ounces and am just fine. Hope the new diet works for you….MS is NOT for SISSY’S.

  2. multiplesclerosis1209 / Feb 22 2011 5:30 pm

    Definitely not for sissys…..and if you are a sissy, MS will toughen you up pretty quickly.
    Thank you for tip on the pear juice. We all need all the help we can get 🙂

Leave a Reply

