Skip to content
March 25, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

The Straw

So my vehicle just went with it’s new owner and Hubby goes out to collect the bigger things out of it to put into the garage.  The main thing is a set of stairs.  A set of stairs made specifically for my oldest dog who is losing the spring in her step and has a difficult time jumping into a vehicle.  Well, guess what?  Someone fucking stole them.  Not kidding.  When Hubby told me I lost it and broke down.  He grabbed me and hugged me and asked why it affected me so badly.  I explained how getting rid of my vehicle meant closing the door entirely on my previous self and that those stairs are for my dog because she is too heavy for her mother with MS to lift her into the car.  It was the just the straw that broke the camel’s back today.  My husband is so amazing he is walking around the block right now to see if someone took the stairs and just dumped them somewhere nearby.

During my breakdown I said, “being a receptionist is just not who I want to be” so he asked who I want to be…..and honestly, right now, I don’t know.  It’s a matter of figuring out who I want to be and who I CAN be (with as little retraining as possible because I hate school).

And so the saga of my life continues……one day at a time……..living with MS.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. elizabeth / Mar 25 2011 10:47 pm

    Hello, I recently started reading your blog and I want you to know that you write really well. And…. thank you, you write what I sometimes think and feel.
    We, you and me, parralle each other. (as you can see, I dont write well and my spelling stinks)
    I was DX 8 yrs ago, I had some great jobs and slowly saw myself declining — (this was before the DX) but while this declining was happening, I was adjusting— and making all sorts of excuses, I’m out of shape, I’m getting older, I’m working too many hours, etc. I’m sure you know where I was at.
    I want to say to you, hang in there — will it get better, will it get worse, nobody (not even the dr’s) know. But we were given this strong sense to continue, pick our selves up and go and hang in there.
    I do hope your husband finds the stairs.
    I dont write on others post too often. I wish you well. You will find whats meant for you, you really will.

  2. multiplesclerosis1209 / Mar 25 2011 11:06 pm

    Thank you. I write as an outlet for my emotions & I always feel better after each post.
    Hubby did not find my stairs. We can get another set but money is so tight, it’s going to be awhile. My income is now 1/3 what it used to be. If I park at the curb just right, my Old Girl can jump in the side door 🙂
    I’m sure I’ll figure out what I want to be sooner or later….for now, I’m trying to enjoy life as a receptionist.

  3. Sally / Mar 26 2011 7:33 am

    not sure what the steps will cost, but see if you can’t put in an announcement in the local newspaper or on craigslist, tell your story. SOMEONE knows what happened to those stairs. I will never understand people and the things they do.

    (((((((((((((SUPERBIGHUGS))))))))))))))))))

  4. multiplesclerosis1209 / Mar 26 2011 12:09 pm

    Thank you Sally. The stairs aren’t super fancy and I’m sure my husband could make some for me (just wood and indoor/outdoor carpet) it was just the principle. People piss me off. It’s just one more thing that Hubby has to do for me that I can’t do for myself……

Leave a Reply

