Skip to content
April 18, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

Because Life Isn’t Difficult Enough

At risk of blowing my cover, I’m going to tell you a little story about my day today.

This morning, I woke up like normal and fed the dogs and started to get ready for work.  When I went to let the dogs back inside a fight broke out in my narrow little hallway.  It got nasty and as I was trying to break it, Big Dog (who weighs about 125lbs) didn’t want to stop and ended up taking a significant chunk out of my arm.  Hubby had to rush home to take me to the hospital where I spent the better part of my day.

Since about 2003, all of my jobs have been dog related until I got nailed with MS.  I’ve worked on dog ranches, at doggy day cares, in a pet store and my last job before my Dx was dog walking.  I have broken up more dog fights than most people will see in a lifetime and never been injured badly enough to require a doctor.   Today was absolutely horrible.  I got my first stitches which was nearly as awful as getting a spinal tap.  The worst wound looked like a shark bite with fatty flesh hanging out in a triangle shape.  I was numb but I could feel the pushing and tugging and pulling to get the skin closed enough to sew up.  And I’ll tell you what, even if you don’t consciously feel the pain your body is still having a physiological reaction so my MS symptoms flared up.  I was weak and shaky and foggy and I almost peed my pants.

Now I have to keep all the wounds dry.  The doctor told me to just shower with my arm out of the shower or cover it with a plastic bag and hold it out of the water.  Doctor’s are so cute.  Really?  That just sounds so easy……for a normal person.  I have balance issues and strength issues and have to lean on the wall when I shower if I close my eyes.  So not only do I have my normal MS problems, now I have to re-figure out how to everything that I just figured out how to do!!!  If I didn’t have to go to work, I would just not shower but I work in an office now so that’s not an option.  Hubby helped me wash my hair leaning over the bathtub so at lest I hopefully appear to be clean.  I had a rag bath for some other areas of my body and tomorrow I will wear extra deodorant.  Because my life wasn’t difficult enough, now I have stitches and pain in my arm AND my leg.  Happy Monday to me.  OH! And I’m on two different kinds of antibiotics and sometimes antibiotics make me have symptoms.  This is going to be a fun week….

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linda G. Cox / Apr 25 2011 12:02 pm

    Oh my goodness! Insult to injury! My heart goes out to you like only an MS survivor’s heart could! I am also a dog-lover, perpetual 2 year olds with the size and power of an adult!
    Linda

  2. multiplesclerosis1209 / Apr 25 2011 10:34 pm

    Thank you Linda 🙂 It’s impossible to try and explain it to non-MS’ers so I stopped trying. If you’ve never been disabled, you just can’t truly empathize. (And thanks for reading)

  3. Joanne Gruskin / May 10 2011 6:58 am

    There is medication that helps…but…we are working on a research project to demonstrate the effects of service dogs on the quality of life of the MS patient. No alternative medicine–just a possible solution to the issues faced by the MS community every day.

    on Facebook: MS Beyond Meds

  4. Cameron Licklider / Nov 12 2012 8:16 pm

    I believe that today we would not have a one pill that would treat Multiple Sclerosis but over time we would finally find a permanent cure for this disease.,

    Most up to date write-up provided by our personal web blog
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-sleep-aid/

Trackbacks

  1. A Whole New Drama « Living With MS
  2. Dogs and My MS « Living With MS

Leave a Reply

