Skip to content
April 25, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

Week 1 is Over

I’m healing up pretty darn fast but I don’t get my stitches out until next Monday.  I made it through the week and actually managed to have a couple almost normal showers.  I can’t wait to be able to marinate in the shower and not worry about what’s supposed to be staying dry.

To make matters worse, all the patients at work decided to let me know how stupid I was for getting involved in a dog fight.  That’s EXACTLY what I needed to hear.  Thanks assholes.  I’m tired of explaining to people that I was totally trapped and helpless and that yes, we do in fact still have the dog.  Not all of these people know that I have MS so it might not seem like such a big deal to them.  To feel totally helpless, weak, trapped and unable to do anything to remedy your situation is super scary.  I’ve never been so weak that I could not break up a dog fight and I keep having nightmares about the whole thing.  Finally the last couple of nights I was able to get to sleep without having the images of Big Dog and his teeth ripping into me flash through my head over and over every time I closed my eyes.

I’ve never in  my life felt helpless.  I’ve always been a strong, confident woman.  This whole incident has taught me a lot and is making me think about things that I never thought about before.  I never worried about a fight between the dogs while they are out in the yard but now I do.  If a fight breaks out I can’t run to break it up, I’m not strong enough to break it up and Big Dogs don’t back down which means whatever dog they go after could get killed or severely injured.  I’m not afraid in my home but I am definitely more aware.   AND yes, the antibiotics suck and are making me dizzy and cog foggy.  Luckily the antibiotics are almost done……ugh.  I just want to get on with my “normal” life.  Hubby has, of course, been amazing through all of this and even brought me a cigarette one night last week since I was having such a difficult time.  I quit smoking when I was diagnosed with MS (per doctor’s orders but I miss it terribly) but occasionally have a cigarette when we are out with friends.  Hubby HATES smoking so it just shows that he really loves me and knows how to make me happy.  I honestly don’t know how I would be getting through life with out him.

P.S. I’m on Twitter now @MSwarrior09  Each time I wrote a new blog post here, it’s tweets it for me.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Linda G. Cox / Apr 26 2011 10:07 am

    I am a dog lover, also (did I already tell you that?) and when I worked at the Humane Society back in the day, I had a similar (not as severe) situation. This beautiful white lab (usually not mean) jumped up when I reached over to feed him, bit me in the forearm, then went after my thigh. He must have been ‘put out’ being locked in for so long! I didn’t have MS then, like you I was always strong and self reliant! I didn’t need any stitches, it just punctured both places and it scared the heck out of me!

Leave a Reply

