Skip to content
April 27, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

More “Normal”

I’ll never claim to be normal but I am starting to get back to my “normal” routine.  My shower last night was pretty darn close to normal.  I kept my arm uncovered by plastic and duct tape and was able to use both hands in the shower.  It’s amazing how much I rely on being able to use both hands to have a shower.  Every time I close my eyes, or tilt my head back, I have to be touching or leaning on a wall so that I don’t fall over.  Add that to having to keep my arm out of the water and it made for some pretty awkward showers.

My leg is healing so much slower than my arm.  This was to be expected but it still sucks.  The bruise is huge and the puncture/stitch is swollen and sore.  I have to keep it covered with a bandage all day while I’m at work (silly  uniform requires me to wear pants!) but I’ve been leaving my arm open to the air which I think is helping.  I get my stitches out on Monday and can’t wait….well, I’m not looking forward to the discomfort of the process, but it will be nice to stop worrying about my stitches getting caught on everything.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Linda G. Cox / May 20 2011 12:29 am

    Lisa,
    I read this when you first posted it, I have no idea why I didn’t write a comment and let you know I was here! It’s probably about healed, isn’t it? I sure hope so!

    This caught my eye because your title, “almost” normal. I was thinking alot about my ‘new normal’ with my reality living with MS. I posted on MSrelief on facebook and no one commented. I wonder how many people are living a ‘new normal’?

Leave a Reply

