Skip to content
June 20, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

Sometimes My Brain Wanders

My brain can jump from topic to topic and luckily Hubby has an awesome sense of humor about, well, just about everything. After he fell asleep my Rebif reminder went off so I prepped my shot stuff. I have a syringe clipper so I can just throw my syringes in the regular garbage and as I was sticking the syringe into the clipper I almost dropped it. This reminded me of a time when we were first getting used to the shot routine. Hubby does my butt shot for me and about the third time he had ever done it, he dropped the syringe on the way to the clipper and it landed in his arm….and stuck. He didn’t even blink and sort of mumbled “Oops. Shit” and removed it from his arm. No big deal.
Tonight my brain wandered to my ex. I was with him for over four years and fortunately got out just before he planned on proposing. I wondered what life would be like if I was with him now, having MS and know that I would have been utterly miserable and unsupported. This made me think of all the people with MS and other disabilities that are in un-nurturing relationships. I’ve read so many stories of relationships deteriorating after a diagnosis. I’m glad I had my diagnosis before my first date with Hubby. At least he knew what he was getting into (for the most part). My hope for single people with MS and any other chronic illness is to stay true to yourself. Don’t settle for less than exactly what you want in a relationship. Walker, cane, limp, stutter, twitch, incontinence, whatever. Learn to laugh at yourself and your ever changing list of symptoms. We all deserve a good partner in this crazy game of day to day life, some of just require someone a little more flexible.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Matt / Jun 20 2011 11:43 pm

    When I got my first Rebif pack and was giving myself my fourth shot, I dropped the needle and it poked straight down into the carpet. It’s so expensive and I was so hopeful for results I pulled it out of the carpet, straightened the bent needle, cleaned it with the alcohol swab, and injected it anyway.

    I wouldn’t do that again now. Missing a single shot isn’t the end of the world, but at the time, I didn’t want to miss out.

  2. multiplesclerosis1209 / Jun 21 2011 10:41 pm

    I probably would have done the same…..Rebif is expensive and I wouldn’t have wanted to miss a dose in the beginning since I was still having side effects trying to get accustomed to it.

Leave a Reply

