Skip to content
July 11, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

A REAL Vacation

With all the chaos associated with my least favorite holiday, I completely forgot to mention that Hubby and I booked a 10 day vacation to Maui for next year!!!  We are finally getting our real honeymoon and I feel more relaxed just thinking about it.  Now I just pray that I’m still feeling good come next Spring!!  We made sure our resort had air conditioning and an elevator because many do not.  They say that the ocean breeze keeps the rooms pretty cool.  While I may believe them, I need the guarantee that I will have a place to completely cool down if I need it without having to take a cold shower or hug a bag of ice.  The resorts we had to choose from on Kauai did not have a/c so that made our decision a little easier (though I would love to see Kauai). We narrowed it down to the Big Island or Maui and then it came down to availability.  Maui was available when we wanted to go so that made our decision for us.  No matter what island we ended up on, Hawaii is Hawaii.

This is my first real vacation planning since I was diagnosed with MS and I am hoping that I didn’t forget any important details during the initial reservations.  I am getting a wheelchair at the airport, the hotel has air conditioning and an elevator (but I think we ended up on the ground floor anyway) and we are renting a car so that I don’t have to worry about too much walking or standing waiting for public transportation (or standing on public transportation).  Being pushed through the airport in a wheelchair is going to be tough on me, on my pride.  When I feel good, I can walk awhile and be just fine but my good friend (who is disabled) reminded me that I should save all my walking energy for my destination.  She basically said, “Suck it up, swallow your pride and just get a freaking wheelchair”.  Hubby is totally ok with being seen with me in a chair so that makes it a little easier.  I guess I’m just trying to get all my stressing taken care of before we are actually packed and ready to.  We are going to be a long way from home and that makes me nervous for the first time in my life.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. DebW / Aug 12 2011 11:09 am

    I envy you your trip to Maui. I used to live there and I miss it. What are your fears exactly? Are you wondering what you would do if you have a major exacerbation and needed medical help? There is a great neruo group in Kahului that I’m sure you could contact in an emergency. In fact that’s where I was originally dx’d and started on Avonex. But that won’t happen. You’ll have a wonderful time. If the trade winds are blowing, you’ll be very comfortable. Take a tiny spritz bottle you can carry in your pocket. I had one about the size of a toilet paper roll spool. It gave off a fine mist and I carried it in my pocket all the time. Way better than a big clumsy one that gets in the way. You have plenty of time to find one. Probably in the travel item section of a drug store. And if you plan on going up Haleakela (which you should!) you’ll need a jacket or sweatshirt because it will be cold. Top of the world view up there. 😉

  2. multiplesclerosis1209 / Aug 12 2011 5:58 pm

    Thank you for the tips and the heads up on the neuro group! I guess I’m most worried about feeling fatigued and having my legs give out and being unable to do everything we want to do. I am super sensitive to heat and have been since I was a little kid but it shouldn’t be too hot there in May. I like the idea of the spritz bottle a lot. I will get one before we go 🙂

Leave a Reply

