Skip to content
July 27, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

Unintentional Experiment

Over the last couple of weeks, we have been eating like crap.  We were starting to get into some great habits when it came to food and then BLAMMO! we have no money.  My Grandfather fell ill and I missed a day and a half of work to be with my family and that was the same pay period as the 4th of July (which I had off but did not get paid for).  My paycheck was a joke.  I don’t make very much money anyway (about $1100 a month) but we always manage to get by.  Lately we have been going through the cupboards getting creative with what we have.  Our bellies have been full, but I can’t say it’s all been healthy.  I think I’ve had Ramen every day for lunch for the last two weeks with maybe the occasional grilled cheese sandwich thrown in for variety. I don’t think I’ve had any fresh vegetables in over a week….

When we started to eat better, I started to feel better.  The last two weeks I have not been feeling as great.  Granted, I’m not terrible, but my legs are weaker, my brain doesn’t want to focus and I have minor fatigue.  If I ever questioned the connection to health and food before, I sure don’t now.  I get paid on Monday and cannot wait to go the health food store and stock up on organic fruits and veggies, rice and meat.  I just want a freaking spinach salad.  Is that so much to ask?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate / Jul 28 2011 4:59 pm

    Hi –

    I’m not sure if you’ve tried, but I’ve been able to save huge amounts of money at the grocery store by using coupons – the one’s in the Sunday paper – and pairing them with deals in the grocery stores. It takes some time to match them up, but if you’re scraping together meals…it might be a helpful exercise. Take care!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

