Skip to content
November 29, 2011 / multiplesclerosis1209

New Job and My MS

I’m still going strong and not finding myself to be too exhausted.  My job is much more physical than my last job but not hugely physical compared to other jobs I’ve had.  I’ve told a couple coworkers that I have MS and they are not treating me any differently.  One jokes about it (in a way that I’m perfectly ok with) and one keeps asking me if I need help lifting heavy things but she’s very sweet and understanding about it.  So far there is only one duty that I find I cannot do and it has not been an issue.  We have a reader board out in the parking lot that we often change.  It requires someone to be at the top of a ladder reaching up over their head to replace the letters of the sign.  The girls who know I have MS just do it and don’t even ask me.  If the other girls are there and ask me to do it, I just say “I’m not good on a ladder” and it’s been fine.

So far so good other than a new manager starting this week.  I hate the ‘breaking in’ period.  She’s from LA and has never worked in this industry.  Supposedly she’s a phenomenal manager but she knows absolutely nothing about anything in the store.  Wish me luck.  I’m definitely getting practice in keeping my opinion to myself this week.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. foxfires71 / Nov 30 2011 6:48 am

    Good luck with your new job, its always a challenge starting over in a new place with or without MS. My employer is aware of my condition; I’ve been lucky though, they are like family. In fact it was my boss that picked me up from the doctor and drove me to the Emergency Room during the flare that would later give me my diagnosis. We spend more time with our co-workers than we do our own families in most cases so its very important to develop a good relationship with those people. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

