Skip to content
March 14, 2012 / multiplesclerosis1209

Traveling with a Disability

As of March 15, 2012 there will be new ADA regulations in effect for the hotel/motel industry.  I love that accessible rooms must be held as last booked rooms and that hotels will be required to have more accessible rooms than they did before.  Hopefully it will making booking rooms go much more smoothly for those of us with some extra requirements.

I recently booked my first vacation post-diagnosis and I tried to think about every little detail that I needed to (I’m even planning on checking my baggage which I HATE doing to save some hassle).  I wanted an accessible room but I do not need a roll-in shower (hate that they spray water all over the floor…makes it MORE hazardous actually) and I didn’t even know if those existed.  I also found that many hotels do not have air conditioning (we’re going to Hawaii). We all know how awful it is for us MSers to get overheated and I REFUSE to take a cold shower or hug a bag of ice on my vacation.  We chose our Hawaiian Island based on whether or not the hotel had air conditioning which is a bummer because I REALLY wanted to go to Kauai but the hotel was cooled by “afternoon Hawaiian breezes”.  We have timeshare so are already limited on our options of hotels.  Also, many of the hotels do not have elevators and the last thing I want to waste my energy on is climbing stairs every day.  We had to make a list of our top choices of islands then research which hotels had air conditioning AND elevators.  Turns out our only option was Maui.

To able-bodied people this may seem like no big deal.  I mean, hey, we are still going to be in Hawaii, right?  It only took us about an extra hour of research and maybe one hour on the phone to book our trip.  Any “normal” person probably could have picked a destination, jumped online and booked a trip in less tan 30 minutes.  On top of all of this, I am going to be having my first public wheelchair experience in the airport.  One of best friends who is disabled (cerebral palsy) told me to swallow my pride and get a wheelchair to get me through the bazillion miles of walking at the airport so I have more energy when I get to where I’m going.  I’m pretty sure this means we get to board the plane first too which is going to be interesting since I “look so good”.

Overall I’m super excited for our trip and I hope I can actually relax while we are there.  There are SO MANY THINGS to worry about but I am going to do my best to stay flexible and keep a good sense of humor.  Any tips from the pro travelers out there are much appreciated!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Becky / Mar 15 2012 3:37 am

    I just want to say a huge thank you! Thank you for letting people know that they aren’t the only person feeling like this. Please keep writing your blogs. Thanks again 🙂

  2. bestjazzclubs / Mar 20 2012 2:09 am

    Hello,
    I try to make a list with the best jazz clubs that have an easy access for wheelchairs. If you have any suggestion, that would be great !
    Thank you
    Céline

Leave a Reply

