Skip to content
January 22, 2014 / multiplesclerosis1209

Life Changes in the Blink of an Eye

I seem to only come back here to blog when big things happen and this is no exception.

I’m pregnant.  We found out yesterday.  I can barely even say it out loud yet.  It doesn’t seem real. We decided to go off of birth control a couple months ago just to see what would happen.  We weren’t exactly trying to get pregnant, but we decided to give it a go for a few months.  Well, it sure didn’t take long.  We are excited and nervous and in shock and not sure quite what to do.  I’ve told some of my best girlfriends and my mom but other than that, we are waiting to tell people until probably the end of the first trimester.  I bought prenatals last night and made an appointment with a midwife for next week hoping that she can give us some much needed guidance on what we need to be doing and/or preparing for.

My husband and I met with my neurologist last Fall to talk about details of pregnancy and MS so we could go into this as informed as possible.  I’ve done a little research but now that there is a bun in the oven (apparently the size of a poppy seed) I feel the need to do a lot more.  I’m not going to lie, the idea of having and raising a human child scares the shit out of me.  People say no one is ever ready so I guess I’m right on track.

If you have MS and have experienced pregnancy and breast feeding, please feel free to give me as much advice as you can.  This next year is going to be a doozy for sure.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. climbingdownhill / Jan 23 2014 1:08 pm

    Congratulations! You are embarking on a wonderful and exciting journey. I had my first MS symptom while pregnant with my first child in 1986, 28 years ago. I went on to have two more children, was diagnosed in 1996 and slid into secondary MS somewhere along the line. I had no problem with pregnancies, breastfeeding or raising my kids. My experience aligned with what I’ve read – actually felt better during my pregnancies, but any relapse more likely to happen after delivery. Try not to stress….enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

